The Calm Before the Storm

Standard

Hello everyone!  Today, I thought I’d do a little different type of blog.  Instead of a story, I thought I’d just catch ya’ll up with everything that’s going on around the farm right now.  I love this time of year, but it always makes me a little nervous.  Winter is finally wrapping up and Spring is on its way.  Each new springtime just bursts with the promise of freshness, new life, and warm, balmy days.  Springtime also brings farmer’s market, the end of school (public and homeschool), and a flurry of other activities.  I think of the early days of Spring as the calm before the storm. 🙂  

Right now, I am LOVING the wonderful warm weather!  It’s so nice to run around outside in flip flops and capri pants again.  My feet love being free! Joey has been able to open up the sides on the hoop houses during the day to let out the warm air.  Here is a picture of some of the lettuce growing in our hoop houses.  I can just taste the fresh, healthy, flavor of yummy spring greens!  Mmmm!!!!!

Image

 

The greenhouse is, of course, loaded to bursting with plants for the garden and plants to bring to market.  We have some absolutely beautiful herbs and veggie plants! Joey’s green thumb is working overtime keeping everything up and going.  Between watering, keeping a look out for pests, and making sure all the little plants are in the perfect sunny spot, he is always running out to the green house to move something or check on it.  

Another thing that happens at this time of year is that the bees start coming out to tell us hello.  After being snuggled up in their hives during the long, cold, winter, they are full of energy as they buzz around and explore the farm at springtime.  Today, Joey and his Dad went through the hives for a routine check, and filled up the feeders to put on the bee hives.  I love hearing the buzzing sound of the little bees when I walk close by the hives!  

The bees aren’t the only living creatures on the farm that love the warm weather.  The chickens are beyond thrilled to be out and about scratching through the underbrush in the woods finding tasty tidbits of beetles and bugs to munch on.  Our gentle rooster is so funny to watch as he proudly struts around taking care of his “girls”.  

Life on the farm sure is busy, but we wouldn’t have it any other way! We can’t wait for market season to start!  It’s always so exciting to get to see old friends and meet new folks.  We are passionate about teaching others how to garden and be self sufficient.  

Along with market season, comes the end of school.  There are always a million and one things that have to be done before I can close out my 2nd grade classroom and send my sweet second graders on to summer break.  Elizabeth’s school usually wraps up about the same time as the public school I teach at, and it’s a bittersweet feeling to see her ending another season in her life.  I can’t believe that she will be ready for 3rd grade next year!  Gulp!  Where did the time go?  I try to treasure each moment of her childhood.  It seems to be racing by!  Another school season will come to an end for me this year as I will watch my Mom (who teaches right next door to me) retire.  I don’t think I’ve ever known a finer teacher, and I sure will miss her! 🙂  At the same time, I’m so happy that she will get to lead a life of leisure. 🙂

Although public and homeschool are ending for the summer, I am starting on a new school journey that is all on my own.  Many of you know that I will start graduate courses to get a certification added to my teaching license to teach Gifted and Talented children.  I am filled with excitement about starting this year long course, but at the same time, I am also a little nervous.  Doubts race through my mind as I wonder how graduate work, homeschooling, teaching public school, working at the market, working at the farm, and being the farmer’s wife will all fit together.  I keep reminding myself to breathe and take one day at a time.  God has a plan and it will all work out.  

So, if you don’t hear from me for awhile, just know that I’m still here.  🙂  Thank goodness for a wonderful family and friends support system!  I’m looking forward to a wonderful Spring, and right now, I’m just enjoying the calm before the storm.  🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

