All That Glitters

Standard

A famous person once said that, “Some girls are just born with glitter in their veins”.  I fully believe that this is true.  I adore anything that sparkles, glitters, or shines.  Gaudy is a word that doesn’t really exsist in my vocabulary.  I am pretty sure that this love of sparkle is a genetic trait.  I am certain that I acquired this love of glamour and glitz from my Grandma Mary.

Grandma Mary and I were like two peas in a pod.  As a tiny girl, I stayed with Grandma and Grandpa during the day while my parents worked.  At that time, she was very sick, and was in the last stages of bone cancer.

Grandma lived in a big rambling farmhouse that was well over 100 years old.  She had a passion for antiques and all things vintage.  Every day, I would ask Grandma if I could go look around in my favorite room in the house- her bedroom.  She would always agree, as long as I solemnly promised not to touch anything.  Grandma’s bedroom was breathtaking!  There was so much to see that I could hardly take it in.  Her low dresser top was covered with antique ladies fans, glittery costume jewelry, all sorts of hats, and pairs of white gloves.

Other surfaces held her collection of antique dolls dressed in silks, satins, and bows.  It was a little girl’s dream!  Often, I would find one particular item that was especially interesting, such as trinket box or hand beaded purse.  I would rush out to her hospital bed, describe what I had seen, and have her tell me all about it.

Even though Grandma had a devastating illness, she still did her best to be glamorous.  I would help her paint her long fingernails her favorite, deep, crimson-red color.  When her skin became dry and parched from her medication, her pink Oil of Olay face cream became a total body mositurizer.  We found out it works espcially well on feet!

On days that Grandma was strong enough to leave her bed, we would venture outside armed with her camera, hats, and other props for photo shoots, starring me!  Looking back now, I realize that she knew her time was short, and she was trying to leave me memories of our time together in case my young mind let our adventures slip away.  However, at four years old, I comprehended none of this, and just knew that I was the star of camera show.

I really think this may help explain why I love speaking and performing in front of people today!  Speaking of performing, that’s another thing that Grandma and I had in common.  Just like her, I play the violin.  One day, while I was listening to a piano and violin combination of the song, “Fur Elise”, I commented to my Dad that it was my favorite song.  He looked at me in a funny way and said, “It was your Grandma’s favorite song to.”.  Besides playing the violin, Grandma was also an accomplished pianist and artist.  One of my favorite paintings that she did is of a Victorian lady who is wearing a fancy pink dress, and carrying a pink parasol.  Everytime I look at it, I smile, and think of Grandma.  Even her art was dramatic!

When I was five, Grandma Mary went to a place where the streets are paved with gold.  Jewels, gold, and pearls sparkle and shine all around.  This place is called heaven.  Even though I’m sure she feels right at home, I still miss Grandma something fierce.  Her love reaches through the years and touches my heart.

Just like Grandma, I believe that glitter and glitz can go anywhere.  It’s not unusual for me to wear my pink pearls when I’m selling vegetables at the farmer’s market; to wear an antique 1960’s pill box hat that’s adorned with feathers to church, or to carry a vintage 1940’s beaded black handbag to work.

After all, “some girls are born with glitter in their veins”, and for some, very special, exceptionally lucky ones, it’s inherited from their Grandma.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Something for Ed | crossroadsgardens

Leave a Reply

